thumbnail The cycle begins anew
bing search
The cycle begins anew © Steven Kazlowski/Danita DelimontJoin Our GIFs Group
Today marks the start of festivities celebrating the Lunar New Year (aka Chinese New Year), which continues through February 26. Because the holiday goes by the lunar calendar, the date of the Lunar New Year on our solar/Gregorian calendar changes each year. The Lunar New Year also comes with a turn of the zodiac, which is divided into 12 parts, with each part represented by a different animal. The zodiac system assigns a single animal and its attributes to represent each year, and 2021 is the Year of the Ox. The others are Rat, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.